Braids & Beyond

Hair, Braids, and Beyond

Review: Snapaholics

on September 18, 2013

Hello Everyone!

Wow, it’s already September and totally time for another hair review….  🙂  Today, I’m reviewing some items from Snapaholics!  I’d never heard of Snaps for beading hair before until I stumbled upon the Sanpaholics site through another hair blog.

So, for those of you who are wondering, “What on earth is a snap?”  🙂  I will explain, instead of having to band you beads on when beading, you simply use a snap.  It’s easier and take less time!  There is another time of snap (it’s call a bead barrette) where you can put in multiple beads with one snap (link here).

I tried two different hair styles with Havilah.  For one style we used just the flower snaps and then in the other style we used the flower snaps and beads.  Here’s some pictures of the results:

Photo on 7-16-13 at 10.58 AM

 

This picture is just braids with snaps on the end and of course, a hair wrap (find those instructions, here).

Photo on 7-21-13 at 8.38 PM #2

And this is an entire hairstyle- beads and snaps!  Havilah also did my hair with a Lilla Rose clip. 🙂

Snapaholics was also very sweet to send  us some beads to try…  We drooled all over their AMAZING webpage of beads!  Until we finally picked the Red Opaque Chubbies – because different shaped beads are fun!  So, far I’ve actually not tried these because they are slightly larger (the holes) then I was expecting and Havilah’s hair is not quite thick enough.  Go check out Snapaholic’s beads.  I’d love to know which set it your favorite!

So now I’m going to recommend two more items from Snapaholics- even though I haven’t tried them. 🙂  I’ve actually gone without them and realize now that I really should invest in one!

Number 1 is a Hair Beader: Because paperclips are not dependable!  🙂  Get a sturdy one- weak plastic ones break.

Number 2 is Double Prong Hair Clips: because close pins don’t always work!  Ok, they are great for sectioning hair, but for small sections– not so good.

You can find all of these items on the Styling Tools page of Snapaholics.

Final Thoughts

Now for some final thoughts…

I liked the ease of the snaps– they spared lots of time with not having to deal with banding on the final bead when beading my sister’s hair- so that’s a big plus!  Something I did not like about the snaps, however was that first you have to use small amounts of hair- ok, I’ll use small amounts, but depending on how active my sister was- the snaps (when done with a beaded style) came out very easily and when they came out– all the beads came out! 🙂  So, that’s one thing I did not like.

Links, please!

Snapaholics – check out the store!  There are tons of other products that I did not even touch on in this review!

Snapaholics Facebook

Snapaholics Twitter

Snapaholics Pintrest

 

And lastly, here is the link to KatKatelynylyn’s YouTube channel where you will find some excellent tutorials!  I even finally accomplished learning how to cornrow by watching one of her tutorials over and over again…  but that’s another story for another blog post (so stay tuned!!). 🙂

I’d first like to Thank Snapaholics for sending some of their products to me and allowing me to review them  Thank you, Snapaholics!

 

Disclaimer: I received free products for this review.  All of the review thoughts are my own.  I do not claim to endorse everything written on the linked websites.

Photo on 7-21-13 at 8.38 PM #3

Happy Beading and Beyond!

Have a thought? Share it!

