Braids & Beyond

Hair, Braids, and Beyond

Review: Beautiful Curls Products

on October 22, 2011

  Today, I am reviewing a few products: Beautiful Curls Shea Butter Curl Nurturing Shampoo (for Babies & Up), Beautiful Curls Curl Nuturing Shea Butter Leave-In & Detangler (for Babies & Up), and Beautiful Curls Shea Butter Curl Activation Cream (for Babies & Up) that I received from Alaffia: Sustainable Hair Care for review.

I’ll start with the Shampoo and Detangler…  I love it!  The Beautiful Curls Shea Butter Curl Nurturing Shampoo (for Babies & Up) is made out of a blend of shea butter, plan extracts, Calendula, and olive oil.  It leaves the hair soft and reduces the frizz.  One of my favorite things about the Beautiful Curls Shea Butter Curl Nurturing Shampoo is the fact that “less is more” just as it states on the bottle.  Being a concentrated shampoo you don’t have to use that much and it still works very well.  I would recommend this shampoo for those who are looking for a product that will leave their hair soft and manageable… and without the frizz.

Havilah using the Leave-In & Detangler

During hair washing, but after the shampooing, you follow with the Beautiful Curls Curl Nuturing Shea Butter Leave-In & Detangler (for Babies & Up).  I also liked using this product.  It is made with Calendula, neem leaf extract, natural minerals and vitamins to create a healthy scalp and improve hair shine.  We apply a generous amount after showering and it leaves my little sister’s beautiful tight ringlets curly and shiny!  We also have used this on my little brother’s hair as well and have been quite happy with the results.

Next up (and lastly), is the Beautiful Curls Shea Butter Curl Activation Cream (for Babies & Up).  I also liked using this product.  🙂  It is rich, creamy, and great for styling!  The Curl Activating is no joke either!  We’ve applied it to Havilah’s hair when it’s dry and frizzy and after working it in for a bit–her little curls immediately form.  Did I mention that it smells good too?  The one thing that I do not like about this particular  product is the container in which it comes.  When dipping your fingers into the container and doing hair at the same time~ you eventually end up with hair inside the container.  That’s the only thing I did not like about this product.  Otherwise I love and highly recommend it!  It is so easy to use that I often have Havilah (5 years old) rub it into her hair all by herself.  🙂

Alaffia was created to help West African communities become sustainable through the fair trade of indigenous resources. One key to sustainability is empowerment of individuals within the communities. We encourage empowerment through our community projects, our women’s cooperatives, and education and involvement in our customer communities. We firmly believe that the cooperation of people across the world is as essential part of building sustainability in all our communities. Source

I hope you have enjoyed reading my reviews of these wonderful hair care products!

Here is the official Alaffia: Sustainable Hair Care website and here is the Beautiful Curls website.

Disclaimer: I received free products for this review.  All of the review thoughts are my own.  I do not claim to endorse everything written on the linked websites.

Happy Braiding & Beyond!!

6 responses to “Review: Beautiful Curls Products

  1. Miss Shiloh says:

    That was me who liked your post on your user name, Shiloh!

    I can’t wait to read this!

    Love ya,
    Eden

  2. […] For this look, I individually did twists along the top part of Havilah’s head and then pulled the rest into a ponytail/”bun”.  To help the twists stay in well, I used Alaffia lotion in her hair before twisting.  You can read a review I did on Alaffia here…. […]

  3. […] Review: Beautiful Curl Products […]

  4. […] I washed her hair with Beautiful Curls and the Leave in Conditioner.  It helped so much and now her hair is back to normal and looking great, […]

  5. […] I love it!  It really does de-tangle  hair and brush it out at the same time.  Along with some conditioner in the hair the brush helps kinky hair turn into lovely […]

  6. […] all, I think it’s a great brush!  I especially think it works best for Havilah when she has lotion in her hair or when it’s […]

Have a thought? Share it!

