Braids & Beyond

Hair, Braids, and Beyond

First Trys at Braiding

on June 21, 2011

This is a quick post that I originally posted on Safely To Arrive At Home (my family’s adoption blog).  Looking over the post, now I do a few things differently, but I still thought it was a fun post!  Hope you enjoy it!

Happy Braiding & Beyond!

Miss Shiloh 

In my spare time I’ve been working on learning how to do Havilah’s hair!  🙂  At first her hair was extremely hard to brush out, but now with a little extra TLC she and I both brush it out morning and night and I think it’s doing great!

Right now we are working on a better schedule to actually wash her hair, but with Havilah’s type of hair it’s not necessary to wash daily…  Here’s what we do (currently):
Mane ‘n Tail
Detangler
1) In the morning or in the evening after her shower- I spray on Mane ‘n Tail’s detangler and let Havilah brush her
hair with a pick (Quick Tip: I actually bought a few picks at the Dollar Store and they work fine!).
Coconut
Oil
2) Next I put some coconut oil on my hands and gently rub it into her hair.  Havilah continues to use the pick and I use a detangler comb (I also got this at the Dollar Store!) to help brush out her hair.
3) Later I just use a normal comb to part her hair, if needed.  🙂
I think my results have turned out quite well!  Although I still need to work on vertical lines as far as the parts go! 🙂
First Try at Braiding
While I work on her hair  Havilah reads a picture book and often reads it aloud to me. 🙂 Finally, when we’re all done we look in the mirror together and then run off to show Mommy.  🙂
Results are improving!!
Do you have any hair tips you’d like to share?
Have a thought? Share it!

